The Association of Heads of University Administration (AHUA) is the representative body for senior University managers (Registrars, Chief Operating Officers, Heads of Administration, University Secretaries) in the United Kingdom and Ireland, with Associate Members in other countries.

The AHUA has 200 members from 140 institutions and is managed by an elected Executive Committee.

The AHUA aims to represent the collective views of members on key issues and policies to the higher education (HE) sector, government and other stakeholders. It also brings together members to exchange information, share knowledge and experience, and to develop colleagues who aim to fill senior roles in HE administration. Our national sponsor is Shakespeare Martineau.

The Executive

The Executive Committee consists of:

All posts are held for three years except for the conference organiser.

Current Officers are:

Nicola Owen
Deputy Chief Executive (Operations) – Lancaster University
Mike Shore-Nye
Deputy Chair
Registrar and Secretary – University of Exeter
Jim McGeorge, University Secretary and Chief Operating Officer, University of Dundee.
Jim McGeorge
Deputy Chair (Devolved Regions)
University Secretary & Chief Operating Officer – University of Dundee
Paul Greatrix
Honorary Secretary
Registrar – University of Nottingham
Helen Galbraith
Honorary Treasurer
Senior Pro Vice-Chancellor and Chief Operating Officer – University of Chester

The Board

NAMEAHUA RoleEmployer InstitutionJob Role
Matthew AndrewsRegional Convenor for AHUA SouthUniversity of GloucestershirePro Vice-Chancellor Governance and Student Affairs
Richard TaylorRegional Convenor for AHUA MidlandsLoughborough UniversityChief Operating Officer
Lynda BradyRegional Convenor for AHUA NorthEdge Hill UniversityUniversity Secretary
Louise NadalRegional Convenor for AHUA LondonLondon School of Economics and Political ScienceSchool Secretary
Eileen SchofieldRegional Convenor for Scottish Secretaries’ GroupUniversity of StirlingUniversity Secretary and Chief Operating Officer
Michaela BoryslawskyjElected MemberSheffield Hallam UniversityUniversity Secretary
Rachel Sandby-ThomasElected MemberUniversity of WarwickRegistrar
Andrew YoungElected MemberLondon School of Economics and Political ScienceHead of Administration and Chief Operating Officer
Helen WatsonElected MemberCity, University of LondonChief Operating Officer
Amanda Wilcox Elected MemberYork St. John UniversityPVC: Governance and Student Life
Stephen Dudderidge Co-opteeUniversity of BrightonRegistrar & Secretary
John RushforthRepresentativeCUCExecutive Secretary
Sophie BowenHost of Autumn 2024 ConferenceUniversity of East LondonChief Student Officer
Niamh LamondHost of Spring 2025 ConferenceSwansea UniversityRegistrar and Chief Operating Officer