About Us

The Association of Heads of University Administration (AHUA) is the representative body for senior University managers (Registrars, Chief Operating Officers, Heads of Administration) in the United Kingdom and Ireland, with Associate Members in other countries.

The AHUA has 190 members from 140 institutions and is managed by an elected Executive Committee.

The AHUA aims to represent the collective views of members on key issues and policies to the higher education (HE) sector, government and other stakeholders. It also brings together members to exchange information, share knowledge and experience, and to develop colleagues who aim to fill senior roles in HE administration. Our national sponsors are Mills & Reeve, Burness Paull and Carson McDowell.

The Executive

The Executive Committee consists of:

All posts are held for three years except for the conference organiser.

The Officers are:

Nicola Owen
Deputy Chief Executive (Operations) – Lancaster University
Mike Shore-Nye
Deputy Chair
Registrar and Secretary – University of Exeter
Headshot of David Duncan
David Duncan
Deputy Chair (Devolved Regions)
Chief Operating Officer and University Secretary – University of Glasgow
Paul Greatrix
Honorary Secretary
Registrar – University of Nottingham
Helen Galbraith
Honorary Treasury
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Student Experience) – University of Chester

The Board

NAMEAHUA RoleEmployer InstitutionJob Role
Paul Ratcliffe Regional Convenor for AHUA LondonSt George’s, University of LondonChief Operating Officer
Matthew AndrewsRegional Convenor for AHUA SouthUniversity of GloucestershireUniversity Secretary and Registrar
June HughesRegional Convenor for AHUA MidlandsUniversity of DerbyUniversity Secretary and Registrar
Lynda BradyRegional Convenor for AHUA NorthEdge Hill UniversityUniversity Secretary
Jim McGeorgeRegional Convenor for Scottish Secretaries’ GroupUniversity of DundeeUniversity Secretary
James RolfeElected MemberAnglia Ruskin UniversityChief Operating Officer
Rachel Sandby-ThomasElected MemberUniversity of WarwickRegistrar
Helen WatsonElected MemberCity, University of LondonChief Operating Officer
Amanda Wilcox Elected MemberYork St. John UniversityPVC: Governance and Student Life
Stephen Dudderidge Co-opteeUniversity of BrightonRegistrar & Secretary
John RushforthRepresentativeCUCExecutive Secretary
Michaela Boryslawskyj Host of Autumn 2023 ConferenceSheffield Hallam UniversityUniversity Secretary

Our partnerships

AHUA has partnerships with a range of organisations, influencing key issues across the sector.