Meet the shortlist of the Dr Jonathan Nicholls Memorial Essay Prize Competition

With the winner of the Essay Prize Competition to be announced in June, meet our short-listed essayists in their own words.

In November 2022 AHUA launched the Dr Jonathan Nicholls Memorial Essay Prize Competition to commemorate a much valued colleague and former Chair of the Association.

Entrants were invited to write an essay on the subject of:

Higher Education Reimagined: identify one innovative idea that would transform HE institutions for the better and consider how we make it happen in practice.

After an extensive selection process in March, the judging panel confirmed a shortlist of nine essays with the winning essay set to be announced at a special award ceremony on 22 June 2023 in London.

Follow the links below to learn more about the shortlist and their essays:

Dr Ant Bagshaw

Ellen Austin

John Dubber

Liesbeth K J Baartman and Kathleen Quinlan

Lydia Dye-Stonebridge

Nick Barker

Dr Paul Greatrix

Sharda Dean

T R Williamson

If you would like to attend the ceremony, please complete this form by 2 June.

Further information about the prize and the ceremony, can be viewed here.